Lender Comparison

Compare 30 Small Personal Loan Lenders With Hidden Meadow Lending

Last updated:

An independent look at 30 online lenders, branch-based installment lenders and credit unions, with APR ranges, loan amounts, terms, fees and funding speed side by side so you can weigh the full cost.

  • Free to use
  • No obligation
  • $500–$5,000
Two friends in their late 20s chatting over iced coffees at a sunlit window counter while comparing loan options

Shopping for a small personal loan is easier when you can see many lenders in one place. The Hidden Meadow Lending editorial team put together this guide to compare 30 well-known lenders across three groups: online installment lenders, branch-based installment lenders and credit unions. Each personal loan provider is described in plain language, with its published APR range, loan amounts, repayment terms, origination fee and typical funding speed.

Please read one point carefully before you start. This page is independent research. It is not a list of lenders in our network, and appearing here does not mean a lender works with Hidden Meadow Lending or that we recommend it. Figures are shown as published by each lender or by reputable review sources at the time of writing, and they can change at any time. Always confirm current rates, fees and eligibility on the lender's own site before you apply.

Hidden Meadow Lending is a free loan-matching service for requests of $500 to $5,000, not a lender. We do not make credit decisions or fund loans. Our goal with this comparison is simple: help you recognize a fair personal loan offer, spot an expensive one, and ask better questions no matter where you end up borrowing. The Hidden Meadow Lending team updates these profiles when published personal loan terms change, but a lender can revise its rates faster than any review page.

How We Compared These Lenders

We compared each lender on six published figures: APR range, loan amounts, repayment terms, origination fee, funding speed and minimum credit requirements, then added who the lender tends to serve and where it operates.

APR, or annual percentage rate, is the yearly cost of borrowing including interest and most fees, so it is the single best number for comparing two personal loans of the same size and length. At Hidden Meadow Lending we treat APR as the anchor for every comparison on this page. We still list origination fees separately, because a fee taken out of your deposit changes how much cash you actually receive. Hidden Meadow Lending readers often find this is where two similar offers separate.

  • APR range: the lowest and highest personal loan rates the lender publishes. Your rate depends on credit, income, state and loan details.
  • Loan amounts: the smallest and largest personal loan the lender advertises. Some set higher minimums in certain states.
  • Terms: how many months you have to repay. Longer terms lower the monthly payment but raise total interest.
  • Origination fee: an upfront charge, often a percentage of the loan, usually subtracted from the funds you receive.
  • Funding speed: how soon money can reach your bank after approval and signing. None of these timelines is promised.
  • Credit and availability: any published minimum score, state limits and, for credit unions, membership rules.

Where sources disagreed, Hidden Meadow Lending says so in the lender's profile. Where a figure was not published, the table shows "Not disclosed" rather than an estimate. Hidden Meadow Lending did not accept payment from any lender to appear on this page, and the order follows lender type rather than a ranking.

Personal Loan Lenders Side by Side: All 30 at a Glance

The table below lists all 30 lenders with their published APR range, loan amounts, repayment terms, origination fee and funding speed, grouped as online lenders first, then branch-based lenders, then credit unions.

Scan the APR column first. Mainstream personal loan rates in this list generally top out near 36%, while a handful of lenders publish ranges that reach the triple digits. Those lenders are explained in more detail below so you understand what the numbers mean in dollars. Hidden Meadow Lending includes them because you may see their ads, and an honest personal loan comparison should show the expensive end of the market too.

LenderAPR rangeLoan amountsTermsOrigination feeFunding speed
Upgrade7.74%–35.99%$1,000–$50,00024–84 months1.85%–9.99%As soon as 1 business day
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)5.96%–35.99%$1,000–$75,00024–84 monthsUp to 8%As soon as the next day
Upstart6.2%–35.99%$1,000–$75,00036 or 60 months0%–12%As soon as the next business day
Avant9.95%–35.99%$2,000–$35,00024–60 monthsUp to 9.99% (administration fee)As soon as the next business day
LendingPoint7.99%–35.99%$1,000–$36,50024–72 months0%–10% (varies by state)As soon as the next business day
Prosper8.99%–35.99%$2,000–$50,00024, 36, 48 or 60 months1%–9.99%As soon as the next business day
Best Egg6.99%–35.99%$2,000–$50,00036–60 months0.99%–9.99%As soon as the next business day (typically 1–3 business days)
Universal Credit11.69%–35.99%$1,000–$50,00036–60 months5.25%–9.99%As soon as 1 business day
NetCredit34%–99.99%$1,000–$10,0006–60 monthsNone listedAs soon as the next business day
OppLoans99%–195%$500–$5,0009–18 monthsNoneAs soon as the same business day
Oportun31.95%–35.95%$300–$10,000 (up to $18,500 secured)12–60 monthsUp to 10%1–4 business days
Personify Financial36%–179.99%$500–$15,0006–48 monthsUp to 5.49%Same day to next business day
Rise CreditAbout 60%–299% (sources cite 59.8%, 59.9% or 60% as the low end); varies by state$300–$5,000 (some sources list a $500 minimum); varies by state4–36 months (some sources list 7–36 months); varies by state0%–5% in some states; none in othersAs soon as the next business day (Finder cites same day possible); typically 1–3 business days after approval
Fig LoansVaries by state; sources report roughly 109%–279% (SuperMoney), 199%–211% (LendEdu), from 176% (ConsumerAffairs)Roughly $50–$800 depending on state (sources differ: $100–$800, $50–$500, $200–$500)1–6 months depending on stateNo origination fee reported; LendEdu notes a one-time account opening fee and an administrative fee in some statesDecision within about a day; funds typically in 1–4 business days
Integra Credit149%–399%$500–$3,000, depending on state10–21 monthsNone (per LendingTree)As soon as the next business day after signing
OneMain Financial11.99%–35.99%$1,500–$30,00024–60 months1%–10% or flat $25–$500, varies by stateSame day or next business day
Mariner Finance15.99%–35.99%$1,000–$25,00012–72 monthsVaries by stateAs soon as the same day after approval
Lendmark Financial ServicesUp to 35.99%$500–$25,00012–72 monthsMay apply; amount varies by stateNot disclosed
Regional Finance24%–35.99%$600–$35,000 (varies by state)12–60 monthsMay apply; amount not disclosedAs soon as 24 hours
World FinanceNot disclosed$450–$12,0006–48 months$25–$100As soon as 1 business day
Republic FinanceUp to 35.99%Up to $25,00012–60 monthsMay apply; amount not disclosedAs soon as same day (branch); 1–2 business days online
Security FinanceUp to 124.48%$491–$2,600 (varies by state)8–24 monthsMay apply; varies by stateSame day
1st Franklin FinancialUp to 35.99%Up to $15,00012–60 months (varies by state)Varies by stateSame-day funding possible if application and documents are complete by noon
Navy Federal Credit Union8.74%–18.00%$250–$50,000 (up to $150,000 for home improvement)Up to 60 months (up to 180 months for home improvement)NoneMost loans fund the same day
PenFed Credit Union8.99%–17.99%$600–$50,00012–60 monthsNoneWithin 1–2 business days after closing
Alliant Credit UnionFrom 8.99%$1,000–$100,00012–60 monthsNoneSame day for approved members (sometimes next business day)
First Tech Federal Credit Union6.99%–18.00%$500–$50,0006–84 monthsNoneAs soon as same day
Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU)From 11.99%Not disclosedUp to 60 monthsNoneTypically 3–4 business days after approval
Patelco Credit Union6.99%–17.90%$300–$100,0006–84 monthsNone2–3 days after approval
Teachers Federal Credit UnionFrom 7.99% with AutoPay up to about 11.24% on official rate table (Finder reports up to 15.45%)Up to $35,000; $20,000 minimum for 61–72 month terms (Finder cites $250 minimum)Up to 72 monthsNone (per Finder); no prepayment penaltyNot disclosed

Figures are as published by each lender or by review sources at the time of writing. Rates, fees and availability change, and your own offer may differ. Confirm every figure on the lender's site before you apply for a personal loan. Hidden Meadow Lending does not control any lender's pricing, and inclusion here is not an endorsement.

Man in his 50s with a salt-and-pepper beard smiling warmly on a downtown sidewalk, a Hidden Meadow Lending reader who compared lenders before borrowing

Online Installment Lenders

Online installment lenders let you apply, sign and repay without visiting a branch, and most publish APRs between about 6% and 36%, although several lenders for weaker credit charge far more.

The first eight lenders below offer personal loans mostly to fair or good credit. The rest serve borrowers with limited or damaged credit, and several of them carry very high costs that deserve a close look before you accept any personal loan offer. In the Hidden Meadow Lending network, lender APRs generally stay between 5.99% and 35.99%, which is a useful benchmark when you read the profiles below.

Upgrade

Upgrade fits borrowers with fair to good credit who want a fixed-rate personal loan of $1,000 or more and value a fully online process. Published APRs run from 7.74% to 35.99%, with terms of 24 to 84 months and funding as soon as one business day. The main drawback is the origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99%, which reduces the cash you receive. Upgrade lists a 580 minimum credit score. Its lowest personal loan rates require autopay and paying creditors directly, and Upgrade checking customers may see lower rates. The loan is not available in Iowa, West Virginia or Washington, D.C., and Colorado loans start at $3,001. Our figures come from a single review source, so check current terms on Upgrade's own site.

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Happen Bank, the bank formerly known as LendingClub, suits borrowers with fair credit or better and an established credit history who need a larger fixed-rate personal loan, often for debt consolidation. Published APRs range from 5.96% to 35.99%, amounts run $1,000 to $75,000, and terms span 24 to 84 months. Funding can arrive as soon as the next day. A strength of this personal loan is nationwide reach: all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. The drawback is an origination fee of up to 8%. The published minimum credit score is 600, and an autopay discount has been reported. The lender's old rates page now redirects to a new site, so treat these numbers as a starting point and confirm current details directly.

Upstart

Upstart fits personal loan borrowers with thin or imperfect credit files, because its model weighs education, income and other data alongside credit history. The minimum credit score of 300 applies in most states, which is unusually low for a lender in this APR band. Published APRs run 6.2% to 35.99% on amounts of $1,000 to $75,000. Terms are limited to 36 or 60 months, so a short payoff is not an option, and the origination fee ranges from 0% to 12%, among the widest spreads on this page. Funding is as soon as the next business day, reportedly when you accept by 5 p.m. Eastern. Upstart is not available in Iowa or West Virginia. Figures come from one review source.

Avant

Avant is built for fair-credit and near-prime borrowers who want a mid-size personal loan and a fast decision. APRs range from 9.95% to 35.99%, loans run $2,000 to $35,000, and terms span 24 to 60 months. Funding can arrive as soon as the next business day. The $2,000 minimum rules Avant out for a smaller personal loan, and an administration fee of up to 9.99% comes out of the loan. Avant does not publish a minimum score; review sources say most customers have at least 580, and another source cites 550 to 580. Availability is not disclosed in our sources, and minimum amounts may be higher in some states, so confirm what applies where you live.

LendingPoint

LendingPoint targets fair-credit borrowers with steady income who want a quick decision on a personal loan for consolidation or a large expense. APRs run 7.99% to 35.99% on loans of $1,000 to $36,500, with terms of 24 to 72 months and funding as soon as the next business day. The published minimum credit score is 620, a bit higher than some peers. The origination fee can be anywhere from 0% to 10% depending on the state, so the same loan can cost noticeably more in one place than another. LendingPoint offers personal loans in 48 states plus Washington, D.C., excluding Nevada and West Virginia. Our figures rely on a single review source, so verify them before applying.

Prosper

Prosper is a long-running peer-to-peer platform that fits borrowers with fair to good credit who need a mid-size unsecured personal loan. APRs run 8.99% to 35.99%, with amounts from $2,000 to $50,000 and fixed terms of 24, 36, 48 or 60 months. Funding is as soon as the next business day. Its strength is a choice of set terms; its drawbacks are the $2,000 minimum and an origination fee of 1% to 9.99%. Prosper publishes a 640 minimum credit score and requires applicants to be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. State exclusions were not listed in our source, and figures come from a single review, so check Prosper's site before you count on a personal loan offer.

Best Egg

Best Egg mainly offers personal loans to borrowers with fair to strong credit who want to consolidate debt with a fixed-rate loan, and it offers both unsecured and secured options. One review lists APRs of 6.99% to 35.99%; another lists 8.99% to 35.99% for unsecured and 5.99% to 29.99% for secured loans. Amounts run $2,000 to $50,000 over 36 to 60 months, and funding is as soon as the next business day, typically one to three. The origination fee of 0.99% to 9.99% is a drawback, and sources differ on its top end. Best Egg lists a 640 minimum score. It is not available in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, D.C. or U.S. territories, and minimums are higher in Massachusetts, Ohio and Georgia.

Universal Credit

Universal Credit serves borrowers with fair or limited credit, including eligible visa holders who live in the U.S., with fixed-rate personal loans. APRs run 11.69% to 35.99% on amounts of $1,000 to $50,000, with terms of 36 to 60 months and funding as soon as one business day. The published minimum score is 580, which opens the door for many fair-credit applicants. The biggest drawback is cost at the low end: the origination fee runs 5.25% to 9.99%, so even the best-qualified borrower gives up at least 5.25% of the loan upfront. Availability is not disclosed in our source, and offers may vary by state. Figures come from a single review, so double-check before you apply for this personal loan.

NetCredit

NetCredit is a high-cost lender for borrowers with weak or limited credit who may not qualify for a mainstream personal loan. APRs run from 34% to 99.99% on amounts of $1,000 to $10,000, with terms of 6 to 60 months. No origination fee is currently listed, and there is no published minimum score. The cost is very high at the top of that range. As a rough illustration, $1,000 repaid over 12 months at 99.99% APR works out to about $135 a month and roughly $1,620 in total, compared with an estimated $100.46 a month and $1,205.49 in total at 35.99%. NetCredit offers personal loans in 37 states, not including Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, D.C. and several others.

OppLoans

OppLoans fits borrowers with poor or no credit history who need a personal loan of $500 to $5,000 and can show steady income and banking history. APRs run 99% to 195%, terms are 9 to 18 months, and there is no origination fee. Funding can arrive the same business day if you are approved before noon Central Time. The cost is very high. As a rough illustration, a $1,000 loan over 12 months at 195% APR would cost about $194 a month and roughly $2,330 in total, more than double what you borrowed, compared with about $1,205 in total at 35.99%. OppLoans serves about 40 states, commonly excluding Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Vermont and West Virginia; some states carry narrower APR bands.

Oportun

Oportun is a certified community development lender offering personal loans to people with limited or no credit history, and no minimum credit score is required. APRs run 31.95% to 35.95%, so the floor is high but the ceiling stays below 36%. Unsecured loans range from $300 to $10,000, and vehicle-secured loans can reach $18,500 in select states. Terms run 12 to 60 months, and funding takes one to four business days. The drawbacks are the narrow, high rate band and an origination fee of up to 10%. Oportun is offered in most states but not in Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Washington, West Virginia or D.C. Figures come from one review source.

Personify Financial

Personify Financial serves fair- and bad-credit borrowers with unsecured personal loans of $500 to $15,000, terms of 6 to 48 months and soft-pull prequalification. It publishes a 500 minimum score and funds same day to next business day. The cost is very high: APRs run 36% to 179.99%, and the origination fee of up to 5.49% is added to your balance. As a rough illustration, $1,000 over 12 months near 180% APR comes to about $184 a month and roughly $2,210 in total, versus about $1,205 at 35.99%. Personify offers a rate reduction after consecutive on-time payments, reports only to TransUnion and operates in 25 states, so check whether it lends where you live.

Rise Credit

Rise Credit offers short-term personal loans to borrowers with limited or damaged credit, with pricing set state by state. Published APRs run from about 60% up to 299%, amounts from $300 to $5,000 (some sources say $500 minimum), and terms from 4 to 36 months. Funding is as soon as the next business day, typically one to three business days after approval. The cost is very high. As a rough illustration, $1,000 over 12 months at 299% APR would mean about $268 a month and roughly $3,210 in total; even at about 60%, it would be roughly $113 a month and $1,355 in total. Sources disagree on fees and state count (roughly 25 to 30 states), and Rise reportedly offers a five-day window to return the money.

Fig Loans

Fig Loans offers very small short-term personal loans in about six states, underwriting mainly on bank account activity rather than a credit score. Reported amounts range roughly from $50 to $800 depending on the state, with terms of one to six months. Decisions come within about a day, and funds typically arrive in one to four business days. The cost is very high: sources report APRs of roughly 109% to 279%, around 199% to 211%, or from 176%, depending on the state and the reviewer. No origination fee is reported, though one source notes an account opening fee and an administrative fee in some states. Figures differ widely between sources and by state, so verify every number with Fig directly.

Integra Credit

Integra Credit serves borrowers with weak credit who need a personal loan of $500 to $3,000, with terms of 10 to 21 months and funding as soon as the next business day after signing. No origination fee is listed, and you need a bank account and email address. The cost is very high: APRs run 149% to 399%, the highest ceiling on this page. As a rough illustration, $1,000 over 12 months at 149% would cost about $165 a month and roughly $1,975 in total; at 399%, about $343 a month and roughly $4,120 in total, more than four times the amount borrowed. Integra lends in about 23 states, including Alabama, California, Florida, Ohio, Texas and Wisconsin, and sources differ slightly on the list.

Branch-Based Installment Lenders

Branch-based installment lenders combine online applications with local offices, consider a wide range of credit histories, and often require signing in person for larger or secured loans, with APRs mostly capped near 36%.

Branch lenders can be a good fit if you prefer to talk about a personal loan face to face. The Hidden Meadow Lending research team found that fees and loan limits in this group change more by state than with online lenders. Watch for add-on products, state-specific fees and the need to pledge a vehicle on larger personal loans.

OneMain Financial

OneMain Financial is a large branch-based personal loan lender that considers applicants across the credit spectrum and requires no minimum credit score. APRs run 11.99% to 35.99% on loans of $1,500 to $30,000, with terms of 24 to 60 months and funding the same day or next business day. Secured and joint options can help you qualify or lower your rate. Drawbacks include the $1,500 minimum and an origination fee that varies by state, either 1% to 10% or a flat $25 to $500. OneMain operates in 44 states, excluding Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont and D.C. A review source notes a pending lawsuit over add-on product disclosures, so read every optional product carefully before signing.

Mariner Finance

Mariner Finance offers unsecured and collateral-backed personal loans through about 450 branches in 27 to 29 states, and it works with borrowers who have weaker credit. Published APRs run 15.99% to 35.99%, although another source lists up to 36.00%. Amounts range from $1,000 to $25,000, terms from 12 to 72 months, and funding can come as soon as the same day after approval. The origination fee varies by state. Online applications are capped at $14,000, so larger loans require a branch visit. Mariner does not publish a minimum score, although one review cites 600. Sources disagree on several figures, so treat this profile as a guide and confirm with a local branch.

Lendmark Financial Services

Lendmark Financial Services offers personal loans to borrowers who have less-than-ideal credit and completes loan closing in person at one of its 500-plus branches. Published APRs run up to 35.99%, with amounts of $500 to $25,000 and terms of 12 to 72 months. An origination fee may apply and varies by state. Funding speed is not disclosed; money is released after you sign at the branch. Sources conflict heavily on Lendmark: one says unsecured loans top out around $8,000 with larger amounts requiring collateral, another puts the minimum at $2,000 to $3,000, and state counts range from 19 to all 50. The figure most often cited is 24 states. Call a nearby branch to confirm what is available to you.

Regional Finance

Regional Finance has a large branch footprint in the South and Midwest, with more than 350 offices in 19 states, and it considers personal loan applicants with poor credit. APRs run 24% to 35.99%, so even strong applicants should not expect a low rate. Amounts range from $600 to $35,000 depending on the state, terms run 12 to 60 months, and funding can arrive as soon as 24 hours. An origination fee may apply but its amount is not disclosed. Larger loans may require a lien on your vehicle, and you need to visit a branch to sign. Watch small extras as well: a $2.95 fee applies to one-time payments made through its processor.

World Finance

World Finance is a long-established community lender with more than 1,000 offices in 15 to 16 states, offering fixed-payment personal loans to borrowers of all credit types. There is no minimum credit score. Amounts run $450 to $12,000, terms span 6 to 48 months, and funding can come as soon as one business day. The origination fee is a flat $25 to $100. The biggest drawback is transparency: the APR range is not disclosed in our sources, so you will only see your rate once you apply. World Finance uses a hard credit pull with no soft-pull prequalification, and late fees can reach $30. Ask for the APR and total repayment in writing before you sign.

Republic Finance

Republic Finance is a Southern and Midwestern branch lender with more than 280 offices in 16 states, offering unsecured and secured personal loans online or in person. APRs run up to 35.99%, loans reach up to $25,000, and terms span 12 to 60 months. No minimum credit score is required. Funding can happen as soon as the same day when you close at a branch, or in one to two business days online. An origination fee may apply, but the amount is not disclosed, and the minimum loan amount was not stated in our source. Larger or secured personal loans must be completed in a branch, so plan for an office visit if you need more.

Security Finance

Security Finance offers small personal loans of about $491 to $2,600 through 750-plus branches in 11 states, with no minimum credit score and same-day funding. Terms run 8 to 24 months, and an origination fee may apply. The cost can be very high: published APRs reach up to 124.48%, far above the roughly 36% ceiling most branch lenders in this group use. As a rough illustration, $1,000 over 12 months at 124.48% APR comes to about $149 a month and roughly $1,795 in total, compared with an estimated $1,205.49 in total at 35.99%. You can start online, but the application must be completed with a local branch. Compare at least one lower-cost personal loan option before you commit.

1st Franklin Financial

1st Franklin Financial is a Georgia-based consumer finance company that makes personal loans through community branches in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia. Its official disclosures put APRs at up to 35.99% with terms of 12 to 60 months that vary by state. A review source lists loans up to $15,000; the minimum is unclear. Same-day funding is possible if your application and documents are complete by noon. Origination fees vary by state, and the official South Carolina example shows none. Louisiana offers lower-rate "Premier" loans with limited availability. 1st Franklin does not publish a minimum credit score, so ask a local office what it typically looks for.

Credit Union Personal Loans

Credit union personal loans usually carry the lowest APRs on this page, often capped near 18%, with no origination fee, but you must qualify for membership and most expect solid credit.

Where a maximum is published, the credit unions below stay at or under 18%, far below the top of most online lenders' ranges. The trade-off is membership, and you usually apply as a member directly with the credit union, outside of any Hidden Meadow Lending request: some unions are open to almost anyone, while others serve specific employers, communities or military families.

Navy Federal Credit Union offers personal loans to active-duty service members, veterans, Defense Department civilian employees and their eligible family members. APRs run 8.74% to 18.00% depending on loan type and term, and there is no origination fee or prepayment penalty. Amounts range from $250 to $50,000, or up to $150,000 for home improvement with a co-applicant, with terms up to 60 months (up to 180 months for home improvement). Most loans fund the same day, and the credit union says most personal loans fund within 24 hours. The main limitation is membership eligibility. Navy Federal does not publish a minimum score, and a $29 late fee has been reported.

PenFed Credit Union

PenFed Credit Union is a nationwide credit union with open membership: anyone 18 or older who is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident can join by opening a savings account with $5. APRs run 8.99% to 17.99%, amounts $600 to $50,000, and terms 12 to 60 months, with no origination fee. Funding arrives within one to two business days after closing. You can prequalify before joining, though membership is needed to proceed. The drawback is that PenFed tends to favor borrowers with solid credit, and it does not publish a minimum score. Figures come from a single review whose update date is not shown, so confirm current personal loan rates with PenFed.

Alliant Credit Union

Alliant Credit Union is a Chicago-based digital credit union offering large unsecured personal loans to members. You can join through a partner employer, a family member, an eligible community near Chicago or a free foundation membership. APRs start at 8.99%; the maximum is not published. Amounts run $1,000 to $100,000 with terms of 12 to 60 months, no origination fee, and same-day funding for approved members, sometimes next business day. Drawbacks: one review says membership must be held 90 days before applying, co-borrowers are not allowed, and rates are slightly higher without autopay. A typical score around 700 has been reported, though there is no official minimum.

First Tech Federal Credit Union

First Tech Federal Credit Union serves tech-industry employees, residents of certain Oregon and Massachusetts areas, and members of partner groups such as the Financial Fitness Association or the Computer History Museum, which opens membership to many people. APRs run 6.99% to 18.00%, amounts $500 to $50,000, and terms 6 to 84 months, one of the widest term ranges here. There is no origination fee, and funding can come as soon as the same day. Unsecured, savings-secured and joint personal loans are available, which helps borrowers who need a co-applicant. First Tech does not publish a minimum score, so check eligibility and rates through its site.

Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU)

Digital Federal Credit Union, known as DCU, is a Massachusetts-based credit union offering fixed-rate signature personal loans to members. You can join as a relative of a member, through a partner employer or organization, or by living or working in an eligible community. APRs start at 11.99%, with a 0.50% discount for $500 or more in monthly direct deposit; the maximum APR and loan amounts are not disclosed. Terms run up to 60 months, there is no origination fee or prepayment penalty, and funding typically takes three to four business days. A payment deferral option has been reported, but its current availability is unclear, so ask DCU directly.

Patelco Credit Union

Patelco Credit Union is based in Northern California but offers membership in all 50 states and D.C.; if you are not otherwise eligible, you can join through the Financial Fitness Association for a small fee that Patelco covers for the first year. Personal loan APRs run 6.99% to 17.90% on amounts of $300 to $100,000, with terms of 6 to 84 months and no origination fee. Funding takes two to three days after approval. Patelco publishes a 630 minimum credit score, allows co-borrowers and secured options, and offers rate discounts of up to 1.5% through a loyalty program. It reports to Experian only, which matters if you are building credit.

Teachers Federal Credit Union

Teachers Federal Credit Union is a Long Island credit union offering personal loans through branches on Long Island, in Queens and in Manhattan. Its official rate table shows APRs from 7.99% with AutoPay up to about 11.24%, while one review reports up to 15.45%. Loans reach $35,000, with terms up to 72 months; a $20,000 minimum applies to 61- to 72-month terms, and one source cites a $250 minimum. There is no origination fee or prepayment penalty, and funding speed is not disclosed. You join by opening a savings account with $1 before closing. Sources disagree on who can join, and the lowest rate requires AutoPay and excellent credit, so verify eligibility first.

How to Compare Personal Loan Offers: APR, Fees, Term and Total Cost

Compare personal loan offers by APR first, then by origination fee, term length and total amount repaid, because a lower monthly payment can still cost more overall when the term is longer or the fee is higher.

Start with the representative example our site uses: a $2,000 loan for 12 months at 24.99% APR has estimated payments of about $190.08 per month. Total repaid is about $2,280.94, of which $280.94 is interest. Hidden Meadow Lending uses that example on every page, so hold those numbers in mind as a yardstick when you look at real personal loan offers.

Now change one variable at a time, the same way the Hidden Meadow Lending calculator lets you test scenarios. Stretch the same $2,000 at 24.99% to 24 months and the estimated payment drops to about $106.73, but total repaid climbs to about $2,561.59. Raise the APR to 35.99% for 12 months and the estimated payment is about $200.91, with about $2,410.97 repaid. Drop the rate to 12% and the estimate falls to about $177.70, with about $2,132.37 repaid.

$2,000 loanEst. monthly paymentEst. total repaid
12% APR, 12 months$177.70$2,132.37
24.99% APR, 12 months$190.08$2,280.94
24.99% APR, 24 months$106.73$2,561.59
35.99% APR, 12 months$200.91$2,410.97

A few practical habits make comparing personal loans much easier, whether an offer comes through Hidden Meadow Lending or from a lender you found on your own:

  1. Ask for the APR, not just the interest rate. APR folds in most fees, so it is the fairer number to compare.
  2. Check how the origination fee is handled. If a 5% fee is subtracted from a $2,000 loan, you receive about $1,900 but repay the full $2,000 plus interest.
  3. Compare total repaid. The lender's Truth in Lending disclosure shows the finance charge and total of payments. Put two offers side by side using those lines.
  4. Pick the shortest term you can comfortably afford. Run a few scenarios with our personal loan calculator before you decide.
  5. Read the optional products. Credit insurance and similar add-ons raise the cost and are usually not required.
  6. Look beyond 36%. If a personal loan offer is far above 36% APR, pause and check credit unions, a smaller amount or a co-borrower first.

For a sense of what APRs look like across credit tiers, see our overview of current personal loan rates. Remember that your actual rate depends on your credit profile, income, state and the lender's own rules.

Hidden Meadow Lending is a free loan-matching service: you submit one request for $500 to $5,000, it is shared with lenders in our network, and you decide whether any offer is worth accepting.

Hidden Meadow Lending was built for people who would rather not repeat the same application many times. Comparing 30 personal loan lenders one by one takes time, and each application can mean another set of forms. Hidden Meadow Lending offers a different route. The request form takes about five minutes, there is no fee to use it, and there is no obligation to accept anything you see. Lenders in the Hidden Meadow Lending network that can make an offer will show you their own personal loan terms on their own site. APRs from network lenders generally range from 5.99% to 35.99%, with terms commonly 3 to 36 months, though your actual APR, fees and term depend on the lender, your credit, your income and your state. Not every applicant is approved, and the service is not available in all states.

One request, multiple lenders in our network

When you submit a request through Hidden Meadow Lending, your information can be shared with more than one lender in our network at the same time. That lets you see whether several lenders can make a personal loan offer without filling out separate applications, which is the main way Hidden Meadow Lending saves you time. Lenders may run a soft inquiry to show offers, which does not affect your credit score; a lender may run a hard inquiry before final approval. If you accept, many lenders deposit funds as soon as the next business day, but timing depends on the lender and your bank. The full sequence is explained on our how it works page.

Before you start, it helps to know what lenders typically ask for: you must be 18 or older (19 in some states), a U.S. resident with a steady source of income, an active checking account in your name, a valid email and phone number, and a Social Security number. Our guide to personal loan eligibility walks through each item, and the Hidden Meadow Lending request form asks only for what lenders need to review it.

No Hidden Meadow Lending login to manage

People sometimes search for a Hidden Meadow Lending login after they submit a request. There isn't one, and a Hidden Meadow Lending login is not needed at any step. Hidden Meadow Lending does not create an account for you, store a loan balance or take payments. If you accept an offer, your personal loan lives with the lender, and you manage it in that lender's own account portal: checking your balance, setting up autopay and making payments. Because no Hidden Meadow Lending login exists, if someone asks you to sign in to a so-called account page to pay a loan, treat it as a red flag and contact our support team at [email protected] or (888) 321-4754, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time.

Is Hidden Meadow Lending legit? Transparency points to check

Asking "Is Hidden Meadow Lending legit?" is exactly the right instinct before you share personal details with any website. A Hidden Meadow Lending legit check should rest on facts you can verify, such as these:

  • Hidden Meadow Lending is a loan-matching service, not a lender, and says so on every page.
  • Hidden Meadow Lending is paid by the companies that receive requests through the service, never by borrowers.
  • Using the service is free. We never ask borrowers for an upfront fee to see offers.
  • We do not make credit decisions, so we never claim that you will be approved.
  • Every offer shows the lender's own APR, fees and terms on the lender's site before you sign.
  • Hidden Meadow Lending legit questions can also be answered by phone or email, and our contact details are published: 9853 Maple Court, Suite 818, Salem, OR 97301, [email protected] and (888) 321-4754.
  • This compare-lenders page is independent research and is not limited to lenders in our network.

Whether you are deciding if Hidden Meadow Lending legit status checks out or vetting another site, a simple test applies: it should explain how it makes money, never demand payment before a loan funds, and show full cost disclosures before you commit. The same test applies to every lender listed above.

What to look for in Hidden Meadow Lending reviews

When you read Hidden Meadow Lending reviews, focus on details that reflect how a matching service actually works. Did the reviewer understand that offers come from separate lenders? Were they clear about the APR and fees they were shown? Did they receive any unexpected contact, and could they reach support with questions? Honest Hidden Meadow Lending reviews answer those questions plainly. Useful Hidden Meadow Lending reviews describe the process step by step rather than simply praising or blaming a rate, because the rate is always set by the lender. Treat any review that claims our service approved or funded a loan with caution, since that is not what our service does. Comparing Hidden Meadow Lending reviews across several independent sites gives a more balanced picture than any single post. Strong Hidden Meadow Lending reviews also mention whether the personal loan offers matched what the lender later disclosed.

Compare Lenders FAQs

Are the lenders on the compare personal loan lenders page part of the Hidden Meadow Lending network?

No. The 30 lenders on this comparison page were chosen through independent research, not because they work with our loan-matching service. Some may participate in the network and many do not. The list exists to show what the market looks like so you can judge any offer you receive, whether it comes through a matching request or straight from a lender you contact yourself.

Why do some lenders in this personal loan comparison list APRs far above 36%?

A few online and branch lenders serve borrowers with weak or limited credit and price that risk with very high APRs, sometimes in the triple digits where state law allows it. The figures are shown so you can see the real cost before you sign. If an offer runs far above 36%, compare it with credit union loans, smaller amounts or shorter terms first.

Ready to see your personal loan options?

One free request for $500 to $5,000. About five minutes, no fee and no obligation to accept an offer.

Start My Request